Seriously, What Is the Point of Going on Facebook?


THUMBSUPTHUMBSDOWNFACEBOOK

Deleting Facebook really did not make a difference to me. I use to go on Facebook all the time just to see what other people were up to and how they were doing. I used it just to keep up with the world and what they were doing every day, just like people do when they go on Twitter. However, I basically only used Facebook in order to post pictures that I took. Other than putting pictures on Facebook and making memories, I do not know any other reason why I use my camera. I only use it to post the pictures on Facebook.

However, it really has not made a difference for me when I deleted my Facebook. It is kind of funny because I deleted Facebook probably two days before class not knowing I would have to delete it anyway. I felt that I really did not use Facebook anymore, other than using it to post pictures, so I decided to delete it. Also, I felt that all of my social media apps on my iPhone really distracted me from my work in classes.

Deleting Facebook really did help me with my classes because I did not feel the need to check it since it was deleted anyway. I did not even care that I was not going on it! It actually felt great not going on it. I go on social media probably every second of the day when I get bored and distracted which takes away from the more valuable things in life such as being with friends and focusing on my school work. I also deleted Twitter for a little bit because I was really stressed and needed to pay attention to my homework I was getting. I had so much homework, so I decided to delete that to. However, that did not last very long because all of my friends would just talk about tweets our friends made or if we saw what someone tweeted so I would never know what they were talking about. I do not go on it as much anymore though.

I feel that when we are able to go back on Facebook on Thursday, I probably will not get it back because I do not need to go on it. I think that the site is actually stupid to me. It is a creepy site where everyone can see anything you do, anything you write, whatever you post, even if you do not post anything about you. Others can post things about you and you would not even know it. Other than using it for pictures, I think it is pointless. Plus, I use an app called Instagram now which takes care of my needs to post pictures. This is an app just for pictures and nothing else. Which is perfect for me since I only used Facebook for pictures.

I think that deleting Facebook really made me a lot less stressed. Not having it made me focus more on what was more important in my life rather than looking at what was going on in others’ lives instead of mine. I was able to get a lot more work done, and i mean A LOT. I did not/do not get distracted from my work since I cannot go on it now. It really makes me think about the future because if this is how I lasted for less than a week now, than it will benefit me more in the future.

The only negative piece about not having Facebook is that I am in groups that are a part of school. I am in the Early Childhood Club and Relay For Life and they have groups on Facebook which update us with upcoming events and meetings and what is going on with the group. I always get emails from these clubs saying to always check the Facebook pages for updates and I cannot do that if I do not have Facebook. That would be the only reason I would get Facebook back. I feel out of the loop when members of the groups are posting on these pages about information and I cannot see it.

Having a Facebook is not a necessity, therefore I can live without it if I were not to reactivate it again. I know this site sounds a little ‘off’ with the title, but it is very true. I included a link right before this sentence giving reasons why someone should delete their Facebook and what is said, I believe in 100% and so should you!

Once it’s Out There, ‘Creepy’ Shenanigans Can Happen

We all know by now that whatever is sent through cyberspace, stays there. Our first instinct may be to look back on our past Facebook posts, tweets, Instagram pictures, and YouTube videos to reflect upon our mistakes, cherished memories, and our growth as human beings throughout time. But there are other ways in that we can permanently document ourselves online—banking and shopping online are only a few examples from a long list of servers that lure you into filling out personal information. Let’s face it—all of us have entered this kind of information about ourselves on the Internet in some way or another; and that’s totally fine. It’s not a crime. What is a crime, however, is that there are some people online who know that the Internet is full of secrets and confidential information; and they will do everything in their power to hack into online users’ private files. With our names, addresses, and social security numbers submitted into the Web, we become vulnerable. Although, we may have gained a sexy pair of heels (or a new release of a videogame) out of these situations, we don’t know what could be done with our identities in the process. (Another blog, “Who Knows?” goes further into the subject of privacy). Any one of us can be a victim of hacked information, celebrities included

beyonce-jay-z-vibe-vixen1

On March 12, 2013, a website posted sensitive information of stars such as Jay-Z, Paris Hilton, and Kim Kardashian, as well as government officials including Hillary Clinton and Joe Biden. According to the article, “Stars hacked! ‘Secret files’ on celebs leaked online,” “The site did not state how the information was obtained or why the people targeted on the site were selected, describing the records only as ‘secret files’.” Social security numbers, addresses, and credit reports were all recorded on the site. Posted along with their information were “unflattering” photos of the selected celebrities. Andrew Smith, Los Angeles Police Commander, mentions that other “top police officials” have also had their confidential information stolen and posted online before. Smith thinks this that, “People get mad at us, go on the Internet and try to find information about us, and post it all on one site.paris-hilton-best-friend-08

There was no evidence found on who had accessed such private information…but even if there was, would it be that important? The main idea behind this major hacking report is that personal information is confidential for a reason. We need to keep track of where we share our identities online and for what reasons. All too easily, such precious data can be found and taken into the wrong hands. Smith says, “The best word I can use to describe it is creepy.” As much as we think the Internet can protect own data, we need to use caution, because once it’s in there, it ain’t coming out!

computer-hacker

Dr. Luke

What kind of name is Dr. Luke? Hint: he’s not even a real doctor. He’s a songwriter and producer, who according to the Hollywood Reporter has had over 40 smash hits since 2004. This guy is probably responsible for writing some of your favorite songs. Examples? Die Young by Ke$ha. Teenage Dream by Katy Perry. Till The World Ends by Britney Spears. He is a hit-maker, and definitely knows how to compose songs that will get major airplay on the radio.

SO. Here’s a quick analysis about who he follows on Twitter. He follows a fairly small amount of people, with his number at 75. He follows pretty much only musicians, songwriters, and producers. People involved in the music industry. Artists he’s written for. Artists he’s currently working with. His partners in crime (AKA other songwriters). This small list of people shows a lot about him and his profession.

He takes it seriously. You can tell by the neatness and attentiveness of the list of people he follows. He doesn’t just follow random people who ask him to follow them. He follows professionals, those who are well-known in the music industry and are at the same status as he is.

I think his Twitter also shows that he has a large amount of people who know who he is as a writer and express interest in his profession and how well he does. Not many songwriters and producers are as well-known as he is. The only other few that are up to his level are writers such as Max Martin (POWERHOUSE songwriter) and probably Rock Mafia.

The professionalism of Dr. Luke’s Twitter is fresh and shows a dedication he has towards his career and doing things with grace. He follows a variety of different kinds of people within the music industry, and is able to network himself even more and extend his credentials.

If I EVER get the chance to write with Dr. Luke, I will feel successful. I’m telling you, he is behind all of your favorite songs. You know, the ones that you jam out to in your car with the windows down.

Love, Hope

Links

Made For Me

Facebook has been a staple of my everyday life since I was in 8th grade. Maybe 7th grade. The point is, I was too young to be screwing around on the website. I felt pretty cool, because all the older kids in high school had one. It was pretty lame actually.

I’m a musician. I network through Facebook, a separate ‘likeable’ account I have linked to my personal one. Before I had the account for my music, I posted statuses whenever I recorded new music, so my Facebook friends could listen. Pretty good networking strategy, I thought. Word spread fast around school every time I posted something about my music.

One day, I logged on and had a friend request. The name of the ‘person?’ Hope Sucks. The picture? A child with Down syndrome trying to run. I remember heat rushing to my face. My mouth dried up. Heart pounded out of my chest. My stomach felt like it was slowly disintegrating. Somebody went out of their way to make this page about me, making fun of me. Talking trash. Not even that, but making hate videos about me on YouTube, as well. “Hope Vista Sucks” and “I Hate U Hope” were among the two. I logged off of Facebook and tried to catch my breath. That page was there for everyone to see. All of my classmates, my family members. Anyone in the world could view someone’s hatred towards me.

I stayed off Facebook for a few days and pulled together enough strength to ignore the hate.

Why did I tell this story? To get the message across that being on Facebook everyday is not vital. It can cause controversy, start threats, or end friendships. People truly have no filter online. They are free to say whatever they want and they abuse that power. Having that freedom makes you feel like you’re in control and nobody can stop you. It’s a good feeling, but it can be a dangerous one.

Logging off Facebook for the week is difficult, but I’m kind of glad that I’m away from all the hate, complaining, and blabber. People annoy me on there most of the time, so this assignment was just about breaking a habit. My point is that although Facebook is fun, logging off may be the healthiest thing from time to time. Take a break from cyberspace and come back to the real world. Even though we have so much technology surrounding us, escaping from one thing can truly give your mind a rest.

My closing thought? Avoiding Facebook for a while means avoiding bullshit.Excuse my mouth.

Love, Hope